• Comment

Four Red Raiders receive Big 12 season accolades

Posted: October 31, 2016 - 11:53pm
Get your A-J Media Digital Subscription now!

Lauren Watson, Gwennie Puente, Jade King and Jordie Harr received All-Big 12 honors the conference announced on Monday afternoon.

Watson, Tech's senior goalkeeper, received first team honors, while sophomore midfielder Puente was named to the All-Big 12 second team.

King and Harr were both unanimous selections to the All-Big 12 freshman team.

For the first time in conference history, a soccer player has won a major award four times as West Virginia's Kadeisha Buchanan has been named the 2016 Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. Courtney Dike (Oklahoma State) and Michaela Abam (West Virginia) share offensive accolades - the first time the league has had co-winners for that award.

The fourth straight defensive accolade for Buchanan makes her the second player in Big 12 history in any sport to garner an unshared major award for four straight campaigns (Zuzana Zemenova, Baylor women's tennis, 2005-08). Buchanan led a stout Mountaineer defense that became the first squad in conference history to not allow a goal in any Big 12 match.

Dike led the league in points (25) and goals (9) this season as OSU ranked 30th nationally in total goals. Abam notched eight goals, while adding four assists for 20 points. She is a repeat selection on the All-Big 12 First Team, while Dike moves up from the second team.

West Virginia’s Nikki Izzo-Brown is the Big 12 Coach of the Year for the fifth consecutive campaign, having earned the honor every season since WVU joined the conference in 2012.

Under Izzo-Brown's watch, WVU became the second program and third team to finish Big 12 play unbeaten and untied.

Cyera Hintzen of Texas is the Big 12 Freshman of the Year, the first Longhorn to earn that award since 2005.

Hintzen is the fourth UT student-athlete to be tabbed as top freshman. She played in 13 contests for UT, with two goals and 19 shots on goal.

All-Big 12 First Team GK - Lauren Watson, Texas Tech, Sr.D - Rachel Ressler, Oklahoma , Sr. D - Kadeisha Buchanan, West Virginia, Sr.** D - Amandine Pierre-Louis, West Virginia, Jr. MF - Julie James, Baylor, So. MF - Ashley Lawrence, West Virginia, Sr.** MF - Carla Portillo, West Virginia, Jr. F - Grace Hagan, Kansas, So. F - Courtney Dike, Oklahoma State, Sr. F - Michaela Abam, West Virginia, Jr. U - Emma Heckendorn, TCU, Jr.

All-Big 12 Second Team GK - Rylee Foster, West Virginia, Fr. D - Kayla Morrison, Kansas, Jr. D - Paige Welch, Oklahoma, So. D - Natalie Calhoun, Oklahoma State, Sr. MF - Tayler Estrada, Kansas, Sr. MF - Hanna Kallmaier, Kansas, Sr. MF - Jemma Cota, Oklahoma, Sr. MF - Gwennie Puente, Texas Tech, So. F - Liz Keester, Oklahoma, Sr. F - Michelle Prokof, TCU, Sr. F - Cyera Hintzen, Texas, Fr. U - Lauren Piercy, Baylor, So. U - Tori Bowman, Oklahoma, Jr.

Big 12 All-Freshman Team F - Raegan Padgett, Baylor MF - Hannah Cade, Iowa State F - Katie McClure, Kansas** D - Addisyn Merrick, KansasMF/D - Kristina O'Donnell, Oklahoma MF - Jaci Jones, Oklahoma StateD - Cachet Lue, TCUF - Cyera Hintzen, Texas** MF - Jordie Harr, Texas Tech** F - Jade King, Texas Tech** GK - Rylee Foster, West Virginia, GK

** - Unanimous selection

  • Comment