• Comment

Tech, North Texas announce two-game football contract for 2024, 2027

Home team to pay visitor $300,000 guarantee

Posted: January 27, 2017 - 5:52pm
Get your A-J Media Digital Subscription now!
Get your A-J Media Digital Subscription now!

Texas Tech and North Texas announced a two-game football contract on Friday, renewing a series that’s been dormant since the last meeting in 2001.

The Red Raiders and the Mean Green will play on Sept. 14, 2024, at Jones AT&T Stadium and on Sept. 11, 2027, at Apogee Stadium in Denton. The contract calls for the home team to pay the visiting team a $300,000 game guarantee, a Tech spokesman said.

Tech hosts North Texas the week after a road game at Oregon in 2024. Tech visits North Texas the week before hosting North Carolina State in 2027. Those are the only two non-conference opponents determined in each of those seasons.

North Texas’ current staff is dotted with several former members of the Tech program: Head coach Seth Littrell, offensive coordinator Graham Harrell, wide receivers coach Joel Filani and associate head coach and pass-game coordinator Tommy Mainord.

Tech and UNT played five years in a row from 1997 through 2001, but haven’t faced each other since.

The Mean Green frequently have been a thorn in the Red Raiders’ side. North Texas was a Division I-AA program when it came to Lubbock for the 1988 season opener and beat Tech 29-24. The Mean Green also won the 1997 and 1999 games in Lubbock, and Tech needed a game-saving strip and recovery from Kevin Curtis and the late Derrick Briggs to win the 2000 game 13-7.

Tech would be the first Texas team from the Big 12 to play at Denton since Baylor did so in 2003. The Red Raiders also would be the first Big 12 team to visit Apogee Stadium, which opened in 2011 and seats 30,850.



Note: Dollar amounts in parentheses are guarantees Tech has contractually agreed to pay opponent.


Sept. 2 Eastern Washington

Sept. 16 Arizona State

Sept. 23 at Houston


Sept. 8 Lamar

Sept. 15 Houston


Aug. 31 Montana State ($500,000)

Sept. 7 Texas-El Paso

Sept. 14 at Arizona


Sept. 5 at Texas-El Paso

Sept. 12 Wyoming

Sept. 19 Arizona


Sept. 4 Lamar

Sept. 18 at Houston


Sept. 10 Houston

Sept. 17 at North Carolina State


Sept. 2 at Wyoming

Sept. 9 Oregon

Sept. 16 Missouri State ($475,000)


Sept. 7 at Oregon

Sept. 14 North Texas ($300,000)


Sept. 6 at Colorado State


Sept. 12 Colorado State


Sept. 11 at North Texas

Sept. 18 North Carolina State

  • Comment